I don’t want to read black books

Sabrina_021

Before you GAUGE an eye out and tell me to look in the mirror, let me explain. I know this subject will obviously be up for contention, but I’ve gotta say it, because it’s true I don’t want to read black books, as much as I don’t care for gay, or disabled literature.

I’m sorry, but I’m not interested in reading about that wrung out OLD stereotype for the 100th time, a 2D image with no substance and nothing to say just to fill that great BEEP*** hole in the market and push more “diverse books” on our shelves. Nope, I’d rather not thank you.

I don’t want to read a book about people who think that because of the colour of my skin, the disability I have, who I pray to or even sleep with is everything that I am. That I should pop up during Eid celebrations, black history month, gay pride or whatever’s flavour of the month that season like some over eager Jack in the box being grateful to get a look in, then shrink away into the darkness when it’s all said and done.

Why can’t this amazing space be shared???

I would like to see are more VISIBLE diverse groups in a juicy story, headlining as the protagonist or, or just a well rounded character which isn’t vaguely drawn out, meaning people, children know that there are others like them in books experiencing and sharing their likeness’s and difference’s, and that it’s not such a strange thing to be apart of stories, which in the 21st century should really be a thing of the past.

Honestly, if see a black kid on the cover of a book I’m still like….OOW!

I get bubbles of excitement and I can’t wait to look inside! Because usually kids don’t see the difference unless it’s pointed out to them most are blind to this exhausting argument, which is great. But, do they want to know if the baddies will slay the dragon? Do they want to know if the MONSTER will eat that horrible teacher? Do they want to know if they can be the hero, and get the girl, and be the wizard of wonderful things….

Of course they do!!!

But we’ve got to meet them half way, there’s got to be books that say it’s possible, we see you.

The Huffington post

Our history and what makes us who we are is incredibly important but tell me what your story is,make me fall in love with you, hate you, weary of you, understand or emphasize with you, don’t just tell me your plight, tell me how your plight has been affected, that’s what’s gonna blow me out of the water with INTEREST not because you played it safe by holding up the race card -or whatever else that LAZY bag of stories of yours holds.

I believe having more cultural diverse groups higher up the publishing chain would help enormously, by understanding the business and bringing forward good quality literature to the masses will further our ability to include opposed to IGNORE, which I think is more damaging than anything we’ve set out for ourselves and our children.

Alex Wheatle

It’s not all doom and gloom of course, there are some spectacular authors and books out there-but there’s room for more-to name but a few Zadie Smith, Alex Wheatle, Chimamanda ngozi adichie, Tanya Landman, Malorie Blackman, Candy Gourlay, Jacqueline Woodson, Kwame Alexander all who feature characters that may be different on the surface but at the crux of it, are very much the same as me or you. I reckon it’s that Human thing…It has a way of getting us all, in the end. 

If you have anything to add to the discussion, or want to recommend any ‘Got to read’ diverse books I’d love to hear from you! Just add your comment below.

See you a fortnight on Tuesday peeps!

I also have a new youtube channel coming soon, can’t wait to share!

 

 

Leave a Reply

