Getting to know the stuff you don’t want to hear!

Sabrina_083

When someone voices their opinion on you or your work, it can be hard not to take it personally. But you must-to an extent-.

Here are 3 real incident’s that have happened to me, and I’m sharing these with you for two reasons, One, when I did this blog I promised to share honestly -for my sins-and Two, I want you to know that you’re not the only one, if you’ve had similar experiences to my own, we can cry it out together!  

 Getting to know your stranger

I got a comment a year ago which read ‘There’s no doubt you can write, but feel your not ready yet’ this was from a publisher I LOOOOVE I kept on thinking ‘She doesn’t think you can do this, she doesn’t think you’re capable’ but without skipping a breath I went on to think….

‘Read more, write more and what else can I send her?’

Getting to know a loved one

Last Winter my boyf who is an extremely logical, and practical person told me ‘I was living on cloud cuckoo, and that I most likely wouldn’t make it as a writer’ very hard to hear, and no doubt he has always kept me grounded with such comments, but it’s taken me a long time to feel so incredibly comfortable in what I’m doing that I shall keep on doing it, and that’s all there is to it.

Getting to know your friends

 I showed my very first script to some friends of mine about eight years ago, and they loved it but said the ending needed work, I re-worked it and they hated it….And the truth is, I hated it too it was awful!

So look, it doesn’t matter if any of the external patter is not to your liking, it should only be a factor if it matters to the work that your producing- which is not always going to have genius signs of Austen written all over it.

Being blind sided by your own colossal ego will do no one any good, least of all you; but keeping sight of your goals will ultimately be everything about you. So if you believe in it, keep going, and don’t be afraid of the critics because one way or another they will only make you stronger!

Follow, Share, Share

&

What’s the best and worst advice you’ve been given? I would love to hear from you!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.