Pinning your character down, even in the holidays!

image

‘The secret life of David Horror’ by Sabrina Bramble

It’s true, even at Christmas its hard for me to switch off. I’ll be talking with someone and an idea will hit me! I’ll be on my way to a party-my mind will wonder, stuffing my face with turkey, and a new character will decide to come sit at my table.

The sketches for my book ‘The secret life of David Horror’ are coming slowly, his clothes, his face, his expressions, and pinning that thing that makes him different, easily recognisable also…The more I draw him, the more I feel I’m getting know him, and his world.

Harmonising the words and pictures can be challenging, although I got lucky here, as I only had to sketch David a few times, before I got close enough to the picture I had of him in my head.

And then there’s the colours…That’s a whole other head scruncher! But like I said this thought process doesn’t stop for me. Christmas Pudding or no Christmas pudding the more I accept  myself as a writer, the more I find myself being utterly consumed by it.

Hey I betta go, a strange character has just come to my table, and is demanding I write their story. Erm…I really hope that’s an imaginary machete their holding!

Happy sketching in 2015!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Pinning your character down, even in the holidays!

Leave a Reply

